3 star

Old Waverley

43 Princes Street, Princes St - New Town, Edinburgh, EH2 2BY

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Good

88% (871 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/1/2018

"cracking"

lovely staff. deco was lovely and the room was lovely. all in all top job

Guest rating:

Good

28/12/2017

"Good Choice"

Value for money, close to the station, clean and centrally located

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/12/2016

"Had a super stay"

Lovely room, comfortable bed, clean and tidy.Staff very friendly and the breakfast was very tasty.Would definately return next year.

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/10/2016

"Great place to stay in the center of Edinburgh"

It`s a great hotel to stay in a center of Edinburgh, almost all the most popular places you can reach by walking. And for a very good price

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/9/2016

"Fantastic location!! Great value for money! Highly recommended!"

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/6/2016

"Friendly hotel, warm welcome."

Hotel is slightly dated but clean. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is good. We would be happy to stay there again.

Guest rating:

Good

6/6/2016

"room clean bed comfortable room was a bit too hot"

Hotel in good location clean and staff polite and helpful

Guest rating:

Average

28/5/2016

"Tired, awkward and over priced"

Well placed nice view over Princes Street to the Castle and old town but very, very noisy. Lift does not reach ground floor and a wheelchair user struggled to tackle the main stairs and the later smaller flight past reception to reach the lift. There are nicer more accessible and less expensive hotels on the same street. The room was very warm and the windows opened only about 10cm (4"). The hotel offers nothing other than a base as there are no leisure facilities, whereas other have spas and pools. The room was clean and comfortable but is need of refreshing.

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/3/2016

"another great stay at this super hotel "

stayed here for the fifth time and once again enjoyed it ... central for everything ,,, straight across road from waverley train station ..we will be coming back

Guest rating:

Excellent

24/2/2016

"Clean and comfortable "

Great location food excellent good overall experience

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/2/2016

"Location/ friendly staff /"

Ideal location staff warm and friendly and nothing to much trouble room and bathroom very clean would certainly come back

Guest rating:

Good

31/1/2016

"Great location "

Situated perfectly in the heart of it all and friendly helpful staff. Bedrooms were small but clean and suitable for putting your head down after a spot of sightseeing. Breakfast was delicious although I though too pricey. It`s my third time staying here and I would stay again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/1/2016

"Excellent Hotel - highly recommended"

Guest rating:

Average

29/12/2015

"In house restaurant served 1 * food at 5* prices."

Guest rating:

Good

20/12/2015

"Friendly staff. Nicely refurbished."

Guest rating:

Good

17/12/2015

"-"

Our room was clean,the bed was really big and comfy,the bathroom was on the small side but it was really modern which made the bedroom look dated,breakfast was excellent,great choice of hot and cold food,only thing I didn`t like was the hotel taking £25 off a debit card to be refunded at a later date if these no damage to our room

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/11/2015

"room very comfortable, staff very friendly and efficient. One drawback is the stairs at entrance "

Have stayed here before and when visiting Edinburgh would certainly stay here again

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/11/2015

"Nice friendly staff and clean hotel"

We shall definitely booking into the Waverley in the future

Guest rating:

Good

5/11/2015

"Lovely Old Hotel"

Lovely hotel and great location. Our room (216) was spacious, clean and had a very nice en-suite with bath and shower. Facility for left luggage - which was free of charge. The only bad thing I would say is that there are quite a few stairs from entrance up to Reception, so if you have a problem with stairs, this might not be the hotel for you. There is a lift from the Reception area to the other floors which is great. We didn`t eat in the restaurant but it look very nice and the menu was varied. The bar has a very good view looking onto Princess Street. All in all a lovely hotel and we wouldn`t hesitate in booking in there again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

5/11/2015

"birthday celebrations "

celebrated my husbands 70th birthday here . had a fabulous room . staff throughout the hotel were excellent . can`t waite to return xx

Guest rating:

Some problems

30/10/2015

"-"

Considering that the reservation was made well in advance of the stay,we were given the last room number on the 6th floor. The room was dark without lighting due to just a small porthole window that looked on to a construction site. We were not informed of this on arrival, so had to keep the curtains closed or were watched by workmen on scaffold,less that 12feet from us. The room itself was ok ,apart from no natural light. Staff were friendly ,and breakfast was very comprehensive. If staying in future, will specify for a room not to the rear.

Guest rating:

Good

15/10/2015

"-"

Everything about the hotel was as expected the only thing spoiling the room was no air conditioning which I know you wouldn`t normally need in scotland but as the rooms are on the main thoroughfare opening windows makes for a very noisy night

Guest rating:

Average

2/10/2015

"Poor air-conditioning in the room"

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/10/2015

"-"

Great service and very clean rooms

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/9/2015

"Great Place To Stay "

The Waverley was a joy to stay great staff rooms clean great bed to sleep with even better pillows.Breakfast was wonderful something for every one couldn`t fault it and everything was hot and soon as food was getting low straight away filled straight back up the room was a delight to have breakfast.And the bar area for a late night tipple so relaxing definetly a winner.

Guest rating:

Excellent

16/9/2015

"Room small but very clean and comfortable and very close to Waverley Station and central Edinburgh."

Enjoyed dinner on two of our four nights. Superb female Maitre D

Guest rating:

Average

20/7/2015

"Well located for access to Airlink shuttle service to the airport."

It was expensive for one night, although probably due to the Open Championship in progress, Moderately comfortable, breakfast fine, but disappointed in the Hotel`s policy of taking an extra £25 precautionary swipe of my Credit Card, supposedly against incidentals. I had prepaid the Hotel in advance for my stay, and thought the insistence on an extra credit was somewhat insulting, as if I was not to be trusted. I complained to the Manager about the process, who said it was quite normal. In my 50 years of travelling I have not been asked for this before. it would be a few working days before the unused amount was back on my account. I would not use this Hotel chain again

Guest rating:

Good

15/7/2015

"Friendly staff"

Guest rating:

Good

5/7/2015

"Great stay"

Great central position, friendly staff and nice breakfast. The room was compact but clean and everything you needed was there. We will definitely come back.

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/6/2015

"Very nice and pleasant place"

Very nice and pleasant place to stay, well located, with a very nice and helpful staff from the reception ending on housekeepers, clean and cozy room with the necessary comforts, I can confidently recommend

Guest rating:

Good

27/5/2015

"-"

Accommodations were very comfortable and generally terrific. The only drawback was no elevator from ground level.

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/5/2015

"The service in the bar and breakfast/dining room was excellent and the room was very comfortable."

The steps up to Reception were rather daunting especially for the elderly carrying suitcases!

Guest rating:

Some problems

26/4/2015

"Good location"

Good location; bar meals good. Breakfast slightly disappointing - could have been more continental choices. No natural light in Room 207 and could not reach to turn air conditioning off. Chilly in bar on the Friday evening.

Guest rating:

Good

31/3/2015

"very dark room with rattling window and toilet that only flushed now @ then but warm @ clean"

Guest rating:

Excellent

24/3/2015

"Excellent location"

The hotel is very central for sightseeing and night life. The room was quite small but was clean and had everything you need. We did not eat in the hotel so can not comment on that but the service at reception was great.

Guest rating:

Good

16/3/2015

"comfy room,excellent location"

Guest rating:

Good

26/2/2015

"-"

When we arrived at your hotel we found the staff excellent and very helpful and the room was very good unfortunately my partner took unwell and we had to catch an early train back to motherwell so we were unable to enjoy Edinburgh but we would like to thank your staff for their help

Guest rating:

Average

21/2/2015

"Very convenient for Waverley station"

Room was clean & OK but the restaurant is basic and expensive for what it does.

Guest rating:

Good

15/2/2015

"Great room, great location."

Location is amazing, a stones throw away from Waverley station. Room was lovely, had access to freeview channels on the television. Comfy bed, clean room, only complaint is the wifi isn`t grea. Overall, great stay!

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/1/2015

"Well trained young staff."

Reception was expecting me and ran through the breakfast arrangements, that was worth getting up for.Room clean and had a pleasant outlook, provided everything needed for a short stay.

More reviews >>

Old Waverley

43 Princes Street, Princes St - New Town, Edinburgh, EH2 2BY

Expert advice

011-44-1872-261-100
Book Online or speak
to one of our hotel
experts for the same
great savings.

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor