3 star

Holiday Inn Express Waterfront

Britannia Way, Ocean Drive, Leith, Edinburgh, EH6 6JJ

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Excellent

93% (54 reviews)

Guest rating:

Good

16/9/2018

"-"

Our room was lovely and clean on arrival. Very comfortable beds. However, other than 6 hangers( not a lot for 2 ladies128512;) there was no clothing storage. The room needs some drawers,even if only small.Bit far from city centre but there is a bus stop outside and great bus service. Two of the reception staff were much more pleasant than the one when we arrived. Breakfast was a fair choice but more choice of eggs would have been nice and, only my personal choice, some grapefruit.. Well done to the ladies doing the rooms. Ours was a mess Saturday as we were rushing off to town. We came back to an immaculately tidy room. Overall not a bad hotel other than distance. Beware taxis from station are expensive (nearly £13)

Guest rating:

Average

19/3/2017

"Out of the way and noisy "

Too far away from main part of Edinburgh. Noisy at night

Guest rating:

Good

29/6/2015

"Very good value for money"

There were some tiny issues with my room, however it was spotlessly clean and comfortable and had everything I needed. There were 3 cracked tiles in the bathroom and the shower curtain didn`t fit the curtain rings properly. The carpet was stained in some places and the walls had a few scuff marks. Overall the accommodation was perfect for my requirements and I really enjoyed my stay.

Guest rating:

Good

11/6/2015

"Good for the price"

Guest rating:

Good

24/2/2015

"Good value, very good service & facilities, spotlessly clean, busy breakfast area..! "

Guest rating:

Good

1/1/2015

"-"

Excellent value, very clean, helpful staff

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/11/2014

"Lovely Setting "

A really good hotel ,easy access to Edinburgh city centre. Just across from the Ocean terminal that is filled with restaurants ,cinema shopping and the Royal Yacht.

Guest rating:

Excellent

4/11/2014

"great place and staff"

Had a great stay and will be doing the same next year

Guest rating:

Excellent

13/7/2014

"Good city choice at a reasonable price"

Not luxurious but good standard, friendly welcome and good location. Close to shopping eateries and royal yacht Brittania. Easy bus to the centre. And includes breakfast.

Guest rating:

Good

20/4/2014

"Value for money"

Guest rating:

Excellent

3/4/2014

"A 1st class hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff."

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/3/2014

"Good staff make for a good stay"

Guest rating:

Excellent

15/12/2013

"definately stay at this hotel next time in edinburgh,staff very pleasant and helpful, thank you."

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/12/2013

"HIGHLY RECOMMENDED"

NICE, CLEAN FRIENDLY. WE ARE 100% HAPPY.

Guest rating:

Good

13/12/2013

"staff v.g.rooms clean& tidy good breakfast"

Guest rating:

Excellent

12/12/2013

"very enjoyable"

Guest rating:

Good

9/12/2013

"very friendly staff & nice clean room. Enjoyed our stay."

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/12/2013

"We stay there every year it`s so easy to on the bus into Edinburgh or shop across the road at ocean "

Guest rating:

Excellent

3/12/2013

"-"

Clean,warm,comfortable and central to all attractions. Had a lovely 2 night stay would definately recommend this hotel.

Guest rating:

Good

30/11/2013

"2 night stay at Holiday Inn Express"

Very good value for money. Have stayed there several times on visits to Edinburgh. Free parking is an absolute bonus in Edinburgh and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel with frequent buses to take you to Princes Street. Breakfast is very good and there is also an excellent bar just along the road which serves very nice meals at reasonable prices. The hotel staff are also very pleasant and welcoming.

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/11/2013

"-"

Lovely relaxing stay...breakfast was very substantial and the rooms were clean and well maintained. .My only complaint was the traffic passing the window..I am a verylight sleeper and next time would ask for room at back of hotel...so defo returning ..thank you

Guest rating:

Good

20/11/2013

"-"

Excellent value. Well situated with bus stop outside to get into the city centre. Free hot drinks from the machine in the breakfast area which was an unexpected bonus. Rooms clean and well maintained. We would recommend this hotel.

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/11/2013

"Great place..awesome breakfast"

Guest rating:

Good

28/10/2013

"Very helpful friendly staff and a comfortable quiet hotel in a convenient location"

The only bad thing was the lack of a towel not provided, and breakfast choice not great.

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/10/2013

"comfortable beds good pillows and friendly staff breakfast basic but tasty , parking at hotel"

The hotel is well situated for access to edinburgh and good shopping at Leith should not be overlooked .There is also the royal yacht Britiania which is docked a few hundred metres away which you can tour or hire out for functions if you so disposed.

Guest rating:

Good

19/9/2013

"breakfast con"

we were told full scottish breakfastdont call scrambled egg/sausage/beans a proper breakfastnobody took responsibility for errorbut given 10% off invoicewould have prefered proper breakfastvery wary of using you again because whats offered is not always correct

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/9/2013

"-"

Lovely hotel with parking, nice spacious rooms

Guest rating:

Good

3/8/2013

"Disabled accomodation"

Although I had checked with the hotel before our visit, a disabled room was not immediately available, however this was put right within the hour. The bedroom was absolutely fine with plenty of space for a scooter etc, but the tiles on the floor of the bathroom were shiny and slippery and there is a step (small, but still a step!) into the bathroom. All disabled parking spots had been taken by able guests when returning to the hotel in the evening, which meant a wait in the car until in the end a member of staff kindly moved his car. The management of this hotel were not able to enforce disabled parking rules.

Guest rating:

Good

14/7/2013

"Good stay"

Cheap n chearful hotel - good stay - breakfast ok - staff nice. About it really.

Guest rating:

Good

10/6/2013

"-"

We enjoyed our stay at the Express Waterfront and found it very handy with the bus stop just outside the hotel. We were happy with the room which was clean and well looked after.

Guest rating:

Excellent

28/5/2013

"Perfect hotel "

This Holiday Inn Express was the perfect place for a short break with my friend. Just a short bus ride into the centre of Edinburgh with a bus stop directly outside the hotel. There is a shopping centre in walking distance with several different eating places in a and a Vue cinema. The Royal yacht Britannia is also in the port there too. The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and efficient . fantastic value for money and will be booking to go again in July with my husband and children.

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/4/2013

"Friendly helpful staff, good location, would certainly stay again"

Holiday Inn Express Waterfront

Britannia Way, Ocean Drive, Leith, Edinburgh, EH6 6JJ

Expert advice

011-44-1872-261-100
Book Online or speak
to one of our hotel
experts for the same
great savings.

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor