5 star

The Courthouse Hotel

19-21 Great Marlborough Street, Central London, London, W1F 7HL

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Good

80% (64 reviews)

Guest rating:

Some problems

17/11/2018

"Not what the images lead you to believe"

The hotel was nice but not worth the price tag that comes with it. Holes in walls, tiles breaking off, unfinished skirting boards, hard bed etc. Not as posh as pictures.

Guest rating:

Some problems

13/11/2018

"Disappointed "

Arrived after 5 hrs travel with reception unable to locate reservation booked through yourselves.Seems the booking was made for arrival the following day,however after much panic and anxiety waiting,the staff gave us our room. Completely shocked at the shabbyness, size and over all standard or room.Awkwardly complained and room changed.Much better but still shabby with dirty curtains, door knob fallen off.Bottle of water smelt so bad my daughter had to stop drinking it.Ckean bedding thankfully with spot on location.NOT 5 star rating and sadly pushing at a 4 star.Needs massive financial injection to bring this back to life.Very sad as this was a special mum daughter trip before major surgery etc...

Guest rating:

Some problems

29/10/2018

"Did not appear a 5 star hotel in some ways."

Standard room carpet needed cleaned/renewed. No iron & ironing boardHousekeeping poor, little things like clean mugs and glasses, refill of tea/coffee etc.Attitude of staff lacking

Guest rating:

Average

28/10/2018

"Pillows "

Think the pillows need replaced No support at all Otherwise fine

Guest rating:

Good

14/9/2018

"-"

Nice interior concept, but not 5* in our opinion. The room was small in comparison to other hotels of similar ilk and the breakfast was very much a cheap standard buffet which was disappointing. Front if house staff were great and very helpful. Waitress in the restaurant was brash.

Guest rating:

Good

31/8/2018

"Central and clean"

But noises outside room till early hours (banging)

Guest rating:

Poor

8/7/2018

"Would never use this hotel again. Shame hotel is nice but staff dont know what they are doing."

Poor experience. Reception staff did not provide any information of what facilities or restaurants were in the hotel. Constantly asked for information. Was charged for food on my card that i had to get reimbursed as there was no staff in kitchen to cook it. I ordered a snack at midnight. Barman told me my order was put through. Half an hour later when i checked on my order, he told me the staff had gone home. Told me i would not be charged but i stil was. I ordered a cocktail earlier in the day and was given a glass of neat vodka mixed with martinee. It was so not appropriate to have so i left it all and went out instead. Location was good and restaurants n pubs outside all have brillant staff. Came back to the hotel and spoke to the barman about my cocktail and he apologised and said he picked up my glass and knew it was not right as other barman is learning how to make them. This was a waste of money paying for an expensive hotel.

Guest rating:

Average

6/7/2018

"-"

Great location. Shame they don`t take pride in service and appearance. Concierge was above average.

Guest rating:

Good

12/3/2018

"Very good "

Guest rating:

Some problems

18/1/2018

"No way this is a 5* hotel"

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/12/2017

"Lovely convenient hotel "

Love this hotel , so friendly and welcoming and convenient for the Theatre. Room was spotless , bathroom clean and water hot . Some biscuits in the room would have been nice . Breakfast was varied but staff seemed fed up. We weren`t offered anything cooked and didn`t realise until someone else ordered it , that we could have had porridge or omelette and not just the buffet food.

Guest rating:

Some problems

28/10/2017

"2 Star"

Poor service reported short fall in fridge,reported tv not working nothing done ,room not cleaned ,paint peeling ,tap in bathroom broken control,tile with big hole very disappointed at £200 plus a night,worth maybe £50 never been so disappointed bed mattress not good coming to the end of its life reminded 2 star hotel Bob Tracey

Guest rating:

Average

18/9/2017

"not a 5* hotel"

the hotel needs renovating, lots of cracks in paint, broken tiles in bathroom, crack in the sink. Also had to get the lamp changed as it didn`t work. staff were helpful yet they didn`t speak the greatest english

Guest rating:

Excellent

15/1/2017

"Great location and friendly staff"

Had a great night here last night. No hot water was sorted immeadiately with a change of room , even though very late, nothing was too much trouble . Very polite , friendly staff

Guest rating:

Good

21/12/2016

"Very nice and excellent location"

Hotel is in a great location and close to Regent Street and Oxford Street. The only negative would be the annoying bathroom without good water protection in the bath shower which means wet floors . Wire metal soap holders which means. Soap falls through. No iron for clothes out of suitcase. Little things I know but would make life a little easier when paying. Even with the little annoyances would definitely recommend this hotel.

Guest rating:

Some problems

7/11/2016

"-"

thermostat on central heating would not work,shower pressure terrible, very small rooms especially for the prices chargedwould not return

Guest rating:

Average

23/10/2016

"Good location , hotel ok"

The hotel is in a brilliant location , close to carnaby st and Oxford St. The room was average at best, the previous occupants pringles carton was still in the room. The cocktails in the bar were really lovely. Breakfast was slow and uninspiring.

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/10/2016

"It was a perm"

Guest rating:

Excellent

15/10/2016

"-"

The hotel was amazing, in the most perfect location, Regent Street just on the door step, very clean hotel and perfect price!

Guest rating:

Some problems

2/10/2016

"-"

Despite the fact that I had booked for TWO people (including Full Breakfast for TWO), which was FULLY confirmed when I checked in, they tried to argue that I was ONLY entitled to a Full Breakfast for ONE person!! Eventually got it sorted, but it really did Spoil an otherwise Good stay!!

Guest rating:

Good

15/8/2016

"Excellent location, interesting hotel with a fantastic roof top bar."

A lovely, centrally located hotel with a quirky bar including the holding cells complete with toilet! The roof top bar was a perfect place to relax and soak up London from above after a long day of sightseeing. Very clean room, courteous staff. Absolutely perfect if Carnaby street, Soho, China Town and Covent garden is what you`re after. Just moment from Libertys, Regent and oxford Street and only a 5-10 minute stroll down to Piccadilly and Trafalgar Square. Would definitely re-visit.

Guest rating:

Some problems

12/7/2016

"-"

Didn`t stay in this hotel due to overbooking , was offered sister hotel instead. The Washington Mayfair was excellent in every respect except for the poor variety at the bar.

Guest rating:

Some problems

10/7/2016

"Fridge broken.broke toe on awkward glass coffe table in bedroom"

The fridge was broken.Maintainance didn`t fix after request made.No cold wine or milk.I broke my little toe on the glass table in the bedroom, , it`s badly placed.No power point for kettle.Rooftop view, back of buildings not good.Rough towels.Not enough shower gel for two people.Breakast ok, but not told of the options for eggs, teas & coffee.No menu on table, staff don`t point out options.very small pool.Not a proper spa.Very poor.Dissapointed.

Guest rating:

Average

7/7/2016

"Unusual hotel"

The name says it all but was expecting a lot more cells and court things ,food ok in silks staff in restaurant was excellent he was very helpful told us all about the place ....reception could be a little more helpful

Guest rating:

Good

27/6/2016

"comfortable great location hotel"

Guest rating:

Some problems

19/6/2016

"Cold hotel to much aircon"

No heat in bedroom no non alcoholic beer in hotel so did not use bars or restaurant shame

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/6/2016

"Location is everything."

Comfortable hotel in a prime location. Nice to see that the character of a courthouse has been retained. Small niggles: no loo brush, bathroom ceiling paintwork ropey in our room (114), very good breakfast choice (ask for things like a fried egg, we were not made aware of this) and finally great to have Sky TV but cut down version is not responsive enough. All in all my wife and I enjoyed our stay and will return in the future.

Guest rating:

Average

28/4/2016

"Good hotel but........"

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/4/2016

"super service, clean, very pleasant stay"

The staff were exceptional, hotel is quirky, food is fantastice

Guest rating:

Good

11/4/2016

"Functional"

Guest rating:

Poor

10/4/2016

"PARTS SHABBY, DECOR AND FURNITURE, The breakfast was really bad"

Guest rating:

Excellent

6/4/2016

"fab location, great staff"

fantastic location near Oxford Circus tube and the great shops and restaurants of Carnaby St. Very helpful staff including the concierges who helped my teenage daughter log into the hotel wifi. Lovely quiet room, very clean with bonus of Sky tv - only small gripe that there were no bedside lights. Would def stay again.

Guest rating:

Some problems

4/4/2016

"-"

Bedside lamp did not work, too late to call someone to change bulb.Sink was blocked, took several minutes to drain completely, again too late at 11.00pm to call someone to fix it. These little things should be checked regularly.

Guest rating:

Good

3/3/2016

"Courthouse good but some things lacking for 5 star rating"

The hotel was very nice but for 5 star you would expect biscuits and more than two teabags of normal tea. Also real milk could be in the fridge, they did bring us some fresh milk on our request. I run a small 4 star Silver B&B and my rooms are full of all manor of teas/coffees/hot chocolate and biscuits. The pillows have no protectors and are awful. There are no spares so we had to use towels. I`m sure they would have bought us some more if we`d asked. The shower was very good but there was not enough shower gel or shampoo for two people. The air conditioning is very noisy and the sash window is broken. The staff were all very good.

Guest rating:

Good

29/2/2016

"very clean and the staff were excellent could not do enough for you"

The only thing that let the hotel down was its bar facillities there were no draught lagers,so had two bottles of beer in a pint glass that came to £11 pounds,this was a minor shortcoming but still the bar should be fully equipped to serve customers what they want in a 5 star hotel

Guest rating:

Good

15/2/2016

"Excellent staff"

Hotel had the best mattress I`ve ever slept on!!

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/2/2016

"very good nice and quiet room breakfast very good "

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/12/2015

"Location Location !!"

Really enjoyed our stay at the Courthouse where we were made very welcome. We would certainly consider staying again next time we are in London.

Guest rating:

Good

24/11/2015

"Great location, shame they don`t do more to sell the facilities, no info at all in the room"

The Courthouse Hotel

19-21 Great Marlborough Street, Central London, London, W1F 7HL

Expert advice

011-44-1872-261-100
Book Online or speak
to one of our hotel
experts for the same
great savings.

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor