4 star deluxe

Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes

83 Chiltern Street, Baker Street, London, W1U 6NF

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Good

85% (189 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/6/2017

"Excellent hotel."

We love this hotel friendly and comfortable. Nothing negative to say about it, we will definitely return.

Guest rating:

Excellent

9/3/2015

"-"

Have stayed at the Sherlock before and loved it. We came back to London to see a West End show and although there were hotels closer to the Theatre, elected to stay at the Sherlock again as we were so impressed with it the first time and we weren`t disappointed. Great location, excellent staff service and the food is brilliant. Will be back!

Guest rating:

Good

9/2/2015

"-"

No A/C for cool air in rooms.No side plates or warm main course plates at breakfast and slow delivery of made to order items like poached eggs let down the hotel but the staff were all very good,pleasant and polite.

Guest rating:

Good

12/1/2015

"very nice"

a good choice of hotel with friendly staff. The room was clean and with the high ceilings gave a feeling of space despite we only having a standard room. the bathroom was compact but light. the shower was very good and having a robe was a nice touch. we had some drinks in the bar after the show and I did feel that they were on the pricey side but that aside everything was fine including a trip to the gym.

Guest rating:

Good

24/11/2014

"Good location"

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/9/2014

"-"

Lovely hotel , very central with easy access. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room was wonderful and very spacious. Highly recommend this hotel and will be returning soon.

Guest rating:

Good

11/8/2014

"Sherlock Holmes in Baker Street."

Very central, we used the bus to get everywhere it was so good. Grub was excellent great breakfast each morning and we ate int the restuarant one day and had a really very good lunch. Room was fine. I woould certainly recommend it

Guest rating:

Good

30/6/2014

"Good food."

Good location no far from underground.

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/5/2014

"-"

The hotel was a pleasant surprise, small but welcoming, 5 min walk from the nearest tube, ideal. The room was comfortable and nice bathroom. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. The food, we ate in the bar, was absoulutely delicious and reasonably priced, considering we were in the heart of London, would definately use them again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

30/3/2014

"-"

Me and my wife were happy and were made very comfortable at the Sherlock homes hotel London we got to the hotel early and our room was ready for us. The room was nice and clean and the bed was comfortable,it did get warm at times but turning the air conditioning on it helped,I don`t want to mention names but ALL the people working there were kind and friendly, the breakfast was good and hot,we will definitely go back to the hotel : )

Guest rating:

Good

10/3/2014

"very nice good location not overbearing"

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/8/2013

"Excellent hotel"

From the minute we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful, attentive and friendly, they went the extra mile for us. The room was great, comfortable and clean. We would definitely recommend the Sherlock Holmes and will certainly stay there again.

Guest rating:

Good

24/8/2013

"-"

Excellent service, courteous staff and comfortable room. Enjoyed the complimentary newspapers and magazines. The only disappointment was the bathroom robes and towels which were like cardboard and definitely needed to be renewed. For a 4 star hotel, this should not have been an issue. It spoiled the otherwise excellent stay.

Guest rating:

Excellent

28/2/2011

"good food good wine exellent staff"

overall it was a brilliant weekend thank you sherlock

Guest rating:

Good

16/12/2010

"Good location with friendly staff,expensive for the standard of rooms, very average breakfast"

I was disappointed with my room (322) for the price and found that the shower didn`t work properly, the bathroom entrabce door was VERY narrow and the room was not what I expect from a 4* hotel. However, when I showed the problems to the duty manager he reacted positvely and moved me to a superior room and left a lovely note of apology together with some friut and wine - VERY impressed by this reaction. Would use again because of this.

Guest rating:

Good

6/12/2010

"-"

Good value for the price I paid.i had reservations after having read some reviews ie "tacky bar area", "noisey", "uncomfortable matress.The bar was not tacky, the matress was very comfortable. The hotel was in a good area for eating, and tube was very close by. Easy walking to oxford street.I would stay here again.

Guest rating:

Average

22/11/2010

"Average Hotel with overpriced food and overpriced drink"

Hotel ok but the did not even know at the bar what a FRENCH MARTINI WAS!!!!

Guest rating:

Average

1/11/2010

"-"

Overall, the hotel was okay. Photos online looked much better than the reality. Staff were friendly, professional and courteous. The main problem I had was that the bedroom was unbearably HOT!!! Despite speaking to reception, all they could do was offer a fan to swirl around the hot air - and everyday the cleaning staff switched the hot air on again while we were out so it never cooled down! Also, the dining room was unable to accommodate very many guests at breakfast time so we had to eat in the bar area - tables too small and chairs too low so very inadequate & uncomfortable. Finally, only 1 lift in the hotel which was very slow and unable to accommodate all guests. Would think twice before staying here again. Value for money was very poor.

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/11/2010

"Compact but well equipped room and excellent breakfast buffet"

Guest rating:

Excellent

27/10/2010

"this was a gift to parents who thoroughly enjoyed there stay, they said the hotel and room was 1st c"

Guest rating:

Good

25/10/2010

"Hotel has everything but Dr Watson"

Guest rating:

Good

10/9/2010

"Good location for shopping and West End."

My Daughter and I enjoyed our stay at the Hotel, everything we required on that particular weekend was within walking distance,of thehotel which is in a fairly central location. The room was a standard double and was clean, the only down side being that it was ready for re-decoration. In comparison to other 4 star hotels we have stopped in I would describe this hotel as a good 3star.

Guest rating:

Some problems

4/9/2010

"-"

The T.V. was`nt working in our room when we arrived. We were offered an alternative room but we had unpacked and decided to wait till the following day with a promise of maintenance. To be frank the cooked items at breakfast were pretty dismal; very little choice and not presented in the most appetising manner. the scrambled eggs looked like emulsion paint and the baked beans were a congealed mass. For the price I would have expected more choice of hot food.

Guest rating:

Excellent

4/9/2010

"Great Hotel Great Location"

Hotel was fantasticly located. Staff are very helpful. Room was Great. Sauna and steam room on a sunday moring is a great way to end the weekend. Will be using again.

Guest rating:

Good

26/8/2010

"Room a bit on the small side, but fantastic location, good prompt service. Would definitely return"

Guest rating:

Good

24/8/2010

"-"

Fabulous location and almost perfect. The rooms could have been cleaner and it was rather noisy. We were adjacent to where the chambermaids stored their equipment and they disturbed us. Plus there was a noisy hen party in.

Guest rating:

Some problems

9/8/2010

"No privacy because of the see-through sliding door on the bathroom"

In addition, they were very stingy with milk, sugar, tea, biscuits etc in the room. We had to ask them once for milk

Guest rating:

Average

7/8/2010

"Very Noisy "

While the hotel has a great location this does not compensate for the noise levels. With the hardwood floors noise travels within the walls and ceiling to an excessive level. Also, in rooms which face Baker St the bed shakes every time a bus or large vehicle drives by - making restful sleep next to impossible.

Guest rating:

Good

6/8/2010

"-"

Did not like the see through bathroom door !

Guest rating:

Good

6/8/2010

"The first room they gave us was so small no any conditioning however outside the room window was the"

Guest rating:

Good

2/8/2010

"-"

Not quite as nice as the website would appear.

Guest rating:

Some problems

27/7/2010

"Ground floor very offputting . And noisy."

Bathrooms with wet room and assisted seat... a silly shower position.Bedroom large and Ok. Shower/wet room a bit of a nonsense with disabled seat in the way .Thus expensive for not a great offering.

Guest rating:

Excellent

3/7/2010

"Special birthday treat - a very enjoyable stay at the Sherlock Holmes Hotel. "

Excellent room with separate sitting area. Food extremly good and Restaurant staff very friendly and courteous. Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to friends and family.

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/6/2010

"Very welcoming and helpful reception staff, especially Herman."

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/6/2010

"Terrific hotel and great location"

the hotel was excellant we had a meal in it the first night we were there and it was lovely and not to expensive. The staff were very friendly and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to my friends. I will be back to stay here again !

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/6/2010

"Clean, Comfortable and Roomy"

Guest rating:

Some problems

27/5/2010

"rooms are lovely, bar is a bit sleezy"

staff were friendly and the executive double room was very spacious, and well appointed. The bar downstairs was quite sleezy when we arrived and gave a really poor first impression of the place.Also we had booked a twin room but were given a double and weren`t able to change it. The hotel gave us complimentary breakfasts to make up for it, but it was a bad start our stay.

Guest rating:

Good

23/4/2010

"Comfortable and convenient. Pleasant and efficient staff."

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/4/2010

"Excellent stay - staff and food were great."

Very good food, staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely rooms, clean and very comfortable beds.

Guest rating:

Good

15/2/2010

"A quality hotel spoilt by the very uncomfortable mattress on the bed."

We liked everything about this hotel apart from the matress on the bed. The staff were polite & helpful, the food excellent and the general ambience was lovely. It was convenient for the underground and theatres. However, I would not stay there again because the matress on the bed was so uncomfortable. I complained about this when I checked out & hope that something will be done about it. We were only staying one night but could not have slept on it any longer. Other than that the executive room was spacious for London and very clean. The temperature was comfortable (neither too hot or cold) and the ensuite with shower was very good with plenty of hot water. For an hotel of this standard/rating comfort should be a priority and unfortunately one of the the most important things, the bed, spoilt it for us.

More reviews >>

Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes

83 Chiltern Street, Baker Street, London, W1U 6NF

Expert advice

011-44-1872-261-100
Book Online or speak
to one of our hotel
experts for the same
great savings.

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor