5 star

Royal Horseguards

2 Whitehall Court, Whitehall, Westminster, London, SW1A 2EJ

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Excellent

94% (1064 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/6/2018

"-"

Lovely hotel, central location , great food, staff can`t do enough for you.

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/4/2018

"Royal Horse guards"

Great hotel and location.

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/4/2018

"-"

A joy to stay at. The hotel is very elegant, the hotel staff really do give you a personal warm professional greeting, and are very attentive. There`s always a good morning good afternoon or good evening. Bags carried inside and out. 10 out of 10. We highly recommend.

Guest rating:

Excellent

11/3/2018

"Had to change rooms "

Loud noise from air conditioning vent but staff found me a lovely room and helped me move

Guest rating:

Good

14/2/2018

"Good quality hotel"

Major building work across the road obtrusive. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very good but let down by tricky bathroom shower operation. Also telephones emitted a very sharp white light noticible at night.

Guest rating:

Excellent

2/2/2018

"The height of British grandeur"

Opulent surroundings, attentive staff . Comfortable, well equipped rooms.

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/1/2018

"-"

Fantastic hospitality and excellent staff will come againF

Guest rating:

Excellent

4/12/2017

"Fantastic hotel, "

Fantastic hotel, great location, wonderful view over the river Thames with the south bank all lit up. Staff went above and beyond with a special thanks to doorman Florentine, and receptionist Betti, felt very "looked after" throughout our 3 nights stay, housekeeping excellent rooms spotlessly clean. Will be back and will definitely recommend to all. A big thank you x

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/11/2017

"-"

Possibly the best hotel we have ever stayed in. A beautiful hotel with amazing rooms. The hotel staff could not be morefriendlier or helpful. An overall excellent experience. Thank you so much from my wife who`s birthday we celebrated and from myself and our friends who stayed with us. Truly amazing

Guest rating:

Excellent

28/10/2017

"Great room but didn`t have a view 801 . Central to everything . Great breakfast . Lovely staff."

Guest rating:

Good

23/10/2017

"-"

Shower did not work properly which for that grade of hotel is not acceptable

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/8/2017

"Spacious, comfortable room with all the expected amenities of a 5* hotel "

A beautiful hotel in an excellent location just minutes away from the Embankment, Trafalgar Square, The Strand etc as well as all the other attractions once associates with Whitehall/ Westminster. Very clean, comfortable and spacious rooms, small complimentary mini bar and TV in the bathroom. If there was only a small downside it was at check out. A gentleman was clearly complaining to the receptionist about something and when we were up next to check out it was obvious whatever had been said had annoyed/upset the lady as she made no eye contact and was quite sullen, no chat, just dealt with - a shame because otherwise it was an excellent experience and despite this we would definitely go back and recommend the hotel.

Guest rating:

Average

25/6/2017

"Housekeeping "

We tried ringing housekeeping from the room phone twice to know answer. Eventually reception answered and we requested extra pillows for our room at 2.30pm. We went out for the evening and when we returned we asked the restaurant for some milk for the tea/coffee in the room and were told to ring room service. The piloows had not been supplied so we rang room service only to get through to reception again. We asked for the milk as well. The pillows finally came at11.00pm but without the milk. At breakfast we left the table to get food and the cleared away our coffee and toast before we had finished it. They apologised but we had to keep asking for milk and butter. There was only enough shampoo for one person even though it was a double room and the TV in the bathroom didn`t work not that we wanted it but if you supply it it should work.

Guest rating:

Excellent

12/6/2017

"Wonderful position in Westminster & stunningly beautiful property."

Having had the pleasure of staying here before we knew that the outstanding quality of this hotel stands out & upon returning we were not disappointed & in fact enjoyed the stay better than the first time. We were given an upgrade with a free mini bar that was replenished each day (also f.o.c) the food is excellent & choices are plenty- the staff are wonderful so all in all this hotel is in the top 10 of our hotel experiences in various countries so not to be missed ! thank you to staff & management alike as the way they run this hotel is a shining example of how they all should be run. Mr & Mrs.M.Mellors (Derbys)

Guest rating:

Excellent

31/5/2017

"We chose well.... beautiful hotel in every respect..."

The staff , every one of them, couldn`t do enough for you, pleasant, polite, and always a friendly, helpful, happy smiling face! The level paid to detail in every department was fantastic.. wish I was back there!

Guest rating:

Excellent

24/5/2017

"Great staff"

Excellent service and a very helpful team.

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/5/2017

"Great hotel"

Lovely hotel, courteous staff, excellent position for all attractions.

Guest rating:

Good

15/5/2017

"Good position "

Beautiful hotel, good size room, lovely large and very comfortable bed, staff lovely and very helpful. Only downfall, bar and restaurant prices too high for our budget but it was nice to stay in a 5* hotel .

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/5/2017

"Beautiful "

Fantastic hotel . Beautiful interior and fantastic location. Extremely polite and helpful staff.

Guest rating:

Some problems

13/5/2017

"Nice hotel, noisy room from ducting fans outside bedroom window"

Shame about the noise. Will not return to hotel in future.

Guest rating:

Good

7/5/2017

"One off luxury"

Stayed at Royal Horseguards on a theatre break. The hotel is beautiful both inside and out. You feel like youve gone back in time although the rooms are so immaculate it feels as though you are the first guest to stay there. The location is perfect, right on the thames with amazing views and backing onto downing street. The room we were in had a tv in the bath and a light up wardrobe with lovely bathrobes and a complimentary minibar. A couple of small negative points: I called down to ask for milk and sugar and some cotton wool pads and reception said they would send some up. This didnt arrive and I did not get a call to say it wasn`t coming, I fell asleep waiting. The telephone rang early in the morning which woke me up, it was an early wake up call which I didnt request. I also got an early knock on the door from housekeeping trying to get in and clean which is not acceptable. Other than that it was a lovely stay

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/5/2017

"Wonderful service, great scenery"

Guest rating:

Some problems

29/4/2017

"-"

Service at front desk good. Housekeeping poor we were criticised for not reserving a twin room. We had. Not a 5 star hotel. Lacking in some areas.

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/4/2017

"-"

On arriving early my wife unfortunately was unwell. All hotel staff were very understanding and accommodating in their care, for which we were both appreciative of.

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/4/2017

"Excellent Hotel"

Amazing hotel. Staff were fabulous and very helpful. Very luxurious, bedroom was amazing. Booked an advanced executive room and was upgraded upon arrival to a city view! Just wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the hotel facilities a bit more! Will definitely be back for another visit and a longer stay.

Guest rating:

Average

23/4/2017

"Disappointed "

Chose the 5* hotel as it was a 50th birthday present for my husband. Staff great but room disappointing. No natural light window boarded up. Thought I`d try bath with tv, tv picture not great and speakers didn`t work. Soft lighting in bedroom but none in bathroom. Only supplied with 1 dressing gown, as only here for 1 night didn`t bother chasing another as we were at theatre til late. I wouldn`t rate as 5* have stayed in 5* around the world and expected more.

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/4/2017

"Excellent"

This is a delightful hotel - only slight issue is they have very little choice for vegetarians on the dinner menu. Everything else was perfect.

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/4/2017

"Friendly helpful "

Really enjoyed our stay definitely will come back

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/3/2017

"Excellent hotel!"

We stayed at the Royal Hourseguards Hotel which was superb. We were greeted by the concierge at the entrance of the hotel who was very helpful and looked after our luggage whilst we checked-in and was also helpful in directing us to the nearest car park. The hotel was lovely and warm with its natural log fire and relaxing seating area. Our hotel room was also very nice, very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Guest rating:

Good

19/3/2017

"-"

Superb location, elegantly appointed and delightful staff who were willing to smile and serve.

Guest rating:

Excellent

5/3/2017

"-"

After original mix up on room offered upgrade and met my needs and expectations.

Guest rating:

Good

12/2/2017

"Excellent hotel in the perfect location "

We loved this hotel and its location,we had the deluxe room which is basically their cheaper rooms,there was no view from any windows as the glass was frosted and I guess looked out onto a unsightly courtyard but that`s just a assumption as the windows didn`t open and you could not see through them,the room was still very nice but in hindsight would have payed more for a window I could see out

Guest rating:

Excellent

11/2/2017

"-"

Fabulous time show and hotel

Guest rating:

Excellent

9/2/2017

"Lovely"

Our room and bathroom were lovely, very clean and spacious. It would have been nice to have a window we could actually see through (room 810) but as we were only there overnight it wasn`t too terrible. Overall, we were very impressed with the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/2/2017

"very comfortable "

Guest rating:

Excellent

5/2/2017

"Very friendly. Superb hotel"

Guest rating:

Excellent

30/1/2017

"-"

Fantastic hotel in a great location staff were wonderful had a meal in the restaurant food was excellent nothing was too much trouble would definitely recommend this hotel

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/1/2017

"-"

Excellent room and service extremely helpful and friendly staff

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/1/2017

"-"

Very good hotel in an excellent location near to the river and threatreland. It has a lot of history and good facilities.

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/1/2017

"The royal Horseguards"

The hotel is stunning and staff very helpful the room we had was very luxurious and had a very comfortable bed.

More reviews >>

Royal Horseguards

2 Whitehall Court, Whitehall, Westminster, London, SW1A 2EJ

Expert advice

011-44-1872-261-100
Book Online or speak
to one of our hotel
experts for the same
great savings.

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor