4 star deluxe

Amba Hotel Charing Cross

The Strand, West End, London, WC2N 5HX

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Excellent

91% (3280 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Excellent

11/1/2019

"Excellent Accommodation - Worth Every Penny!"

The hotel provides excellent facilities. The staff go beyond what is required of them to ensure that we have the necessary comforts. Great location; in the theatre district and with plenty of dinning options. Right next door to Charing Cross Railway Station and Metro. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Guest rating:

Excellent

5/5/2018

"All staff very friendly and"

All staff very friendly and obliging. We were upgraded to an executive room which was very nice. Excellent breakfasts. Very tasty bar snacks. Very central location. Would recommend and stay again

Guest rating:

Excellent

28/2/2018

"-"

Perfect location, for ncredibly helpful staff

Guest rating:

Good

20/2/2018

"Nice place"

Would book again as it was the perfect location for seeing a show in Dury Lane. This is only a personal preference but having a harder pillow option would have been nice as I sleep with a memory foam one at home so found the pillows far too soft for me. Also it would have been nice to have more milk and coffee sachets in the room rather than having to request more (which wasnt a problem at all). The staff were lovely, helpful, polite and smartly dressed. The hotel itself was beautiful and clean.

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/12/2017

"-"

Fantastic location, fantastic hotel, fantastic staff (actually exceptional staff), fantastic room, fantastic breakfast - overall i`d rate it fantastic!

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/11/2017

"Just fantastic"

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/10/2017

"Great Hotel in Central Location"

Staff warm and friendly, great breakfast, rooms very clean with everything that is required.

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/7/2017

"Couldn`t have been better"

We were upgraded due to the fact that I am pregnant and it was our last break away before the baby. The comfiest bed I`ve ever stayed in, room was huge and room service was yummy! Loved the nespresso machine and snacks in the mini bar. Best hotel Ive stayed in in London.

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/6/2017

"Ambassadors Hotel"

This is a lovely hotel centrally situated for everything. Spotless and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Staff all very professional and friendly!

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/4/2017

"Perfectly situated close to many amenities. Extremely helpful staff."

Both taxi rank and red bus services outside the Hotel door. The best thing for me is the wonderful staff in the resturant and also on reception.

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/4/2017

"Staff were so welcoming and friendly. Hotel spotlessly clean. Would definitely stay again"

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/1/2017

"Brilliant hotel"

The staff really make this hotel special. So friendly and they seen genuinely happy in their jobs. The room was perfect for us and the location couldn`t be better for the Lion King.This hotel is right in the centre of London. But still so personal. Will come here again for a theatre break.

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/1/2017

"Excellent service"

The receptionists were excellent, as were all the staff, We would certainly wish to stay at the hotel again as we felt they wanted your custom.

Guest rating:

Excellent

11/1/2017

"Beautiful central location "

Guest rating:

Excellent

4/1/2017

"Brilliant"

Brilliant Hotel

Guest rating:

Good

20/12/2016

"Deserves 4 1/2 stars in fact. STAFF uniformly helpful, and pleasant to deal with. Facilities good "

Guest rating:

Average

20/10/2016

"Poor breakfast"

Plates not heated and tomatoes hardly cooked at breakfast. Only one knife at setting.

Guest rating:

Excellent

16/10/2016

"Perfect central location. Excellent facilities."

This recently renovated hotel combines modern facilities in a sympathetically restored elegant building. Perfect location for West End and central London. Without exception the staff are helpful and friendly. Rooms are well appointed, have good facilities and although some reviews have commented that some rooms are small, they are no smaller than comparable hotels in central London and are completely ideal for a short visit.

Guest rating:

Excellent

13/9/2016

"Great location & Super Friendly Staff"

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/8/2016

"Best hotel in london"

I have have stayed in a few hotels in London , but The Amba hotel tops them all.Great service, friendly and helpful staff, excellent room,

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/8/2016

"Fantastic Location & Excellent Standards"

I Have just returned from the Charing Cross Hotel, I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and I can only say that it simply gets better with every stay. The rooms are clean, comfortable, the staff are so pleasant and helpful it`s just a great hotel in such a fantastic location.

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/7/2016

"very nice "

beautiful full mod cons loved the fridge full of goodies all staff very helpful

Guest rating:

Excellent

28/5/2016

"If you are seeking perfection ...."

From the moment we were greeted at reception until the moment we left, we had personal attention from all levels of staff which made our stay memorable. An excellent hotel, to be recommended.,

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/5/2016

"Charing Cross Hotel"

Very pleased with hotel this is about the 5th time we have stopped at this hotel ideal location for sight seeing and London shows the hotel was very clean and the service and staff were excellent would recommend this hotel

Guest rating:

Excellent

16/5/2016

"Excellent hotel, great location"

Guest rating:

Good

9/5/2016

"-"

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/5/2016

"Fantastic location for the theatres and Leicester Square "

Guest rating:

Average

24/4/2016

"Mixed quality"

For a 4 star nothing special. We were in Executive double which was OK but nothing special just slightly better than Premier Inn. A couple of beers and water from the mini-bar are not worth the price difference. Three coffee capsules between two people is mean. The Amba lounge service on the second day was dis-attentive at best for us and others. Generally pleasant stay with front of house & general staff helpful and friendly. Only basic toiletries in bathroom. Having stayed in many !00s of hotels across the world this one will not be memorable other than over star`d.

Guest rating:

Excellent

24/4/2016

"Just perfect"

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/4/2016

"Night in the Strand"

Friendly, helpful staff and well-appointed, quiet accommodation made for a most enjoyable stay. We would certainly use this hotel again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/4/2016

"amba hotel,superb"

stayed in a good few hotels in central london ,and this at the time is definitely one of the best, great staff complimentary mini bar, soft drinks ect, recently refurbed, and cool bars.

Guest rating:

Excellent

16/4/2016

"excellent service.spotlessly clean.staff friendly. ideal location"

Excellent service, room and staff. Would not hesitate to recommend hotel, free mini bar, use of bath and slippers. Breakfast, meals a bit pricey,

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/4/2016

"Cannot be faulted "

Absolutely brilliant , took my partner for her birthday , hotel gave us an upgrade as well as chocolates , wine and birthday cake . Staff are all so helpful and friendly , without doubt if I go to London again this is where I will stay . Also it is in a perfect position for all the usual attractions . Thank you to all the staff for making it a memorable stay .

Guest rating:

Good

10/4/2016

"Very friendly rection staff bedroom good but london rating very convenient situation for venues"

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/3/2016

"Best hotel I`ve ever stayed in"

I brought my nana to this hotel and she was a bit worried as she had stayed hear a few years ago and hadn`t liked it. However we we both absolutely blown away by how beautiful this hotel was. The staff were so attentive and from walking into the reception couldn`t do enough for you. The rooms were beautiful with a fantastic bathroom and comfortable beds. Free mini bar and affordable delicious room service. Quite honestly couldn`t praise this hotel enough.

Guest rating:

Excellent

13/2/2016

"Beautiful hotel, accommodating staff, fantastic location, the comfiest beds!"

From the moment we arrived we were treated like their most important guests ever. We had booked 2 twin rooms one with disabled access and thoughtfully so that both rooms were on the same floor we were given a free upgrade to a junior suite - without asking! I cannot praise the staff highly enough and the fuss they made of my elderly mother who was celebrating her 83 rd birthday. The disabled suite was beautifully done and although had all the aids required did not feel at all institutionalised. Highly recommended.

Guest rating:

Excellent

17/1/2016

"Excellent hotel"

Stayed in a few round the world and they could take a leaf out of this hotels book. It`s always the little things that nag. But the nespresso free unlimited wifi and a tablet full of info and working was a great touch. Certainly be back.

Guest rating:

Excellent

9/11/2015

"Warm friendly & helpful staff. Hotel standard excellent. "

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/10/2015

"very comfortable,ideal for tube,buses,and central london"

Most helpful staff, and upgraded room to executive room with no charge,when a slight change in requirements was rewuested

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/10/2015

"Clean, quiet, great staff and service, and real milk in fridge!"

More reviews >>

Amba Hotel Charing Cross

The Strand, West End, London, WC2N 5HX

Expert advice

011-44-1872-261-100
Book Online or speak
to one of our hotel
experts for the same
great savings.

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor