5 star

The Rubens at the Palace

39 Buckingham Palace Road, Victoria, London, SW1W 0PS

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Excellent

94% (251 reviews)

<<   More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/7/2011

"Very good enjoyable weekend well placed and excellent service the wife says we can use it again !"

Guest rating:

Good

13/7/2011

"Location is excellent for a mini break in london,but accomodation is very small for the price."

The staff were very good and really polite but this hotel is not suitable for a prolonged stay.

Guest rating:

Good

11/7/2011

"Excellent position"

The hotel is well placed for the 2 main theatres in victoria, the staff were very freindly and helpful. the room we had was a little on the small side but this is the only minor gripe. The hotel is well placed opposite Buckingham palace and a very easy stroll to the parks around the palace. We saw billy elliot at the victoria thetare which was no more than 5 mins walk from the hotel.

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/7/2011

"One of the best hotels I have stayed in"

The Reubens staff absolutely make this one of the best hotels globally (and I have travelled somewhat through the years). Our stay was part of a birthday present for my wife and their customer service went above and beyond. We had a birthday cake delivered to our room, champagne in the bar - all complimentary. The rooms were well appointed, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed with sufficient lighting. Recommended in the very strongest terms. Thank you

Guest rating:

Excellent

20/6/2011

"very very good"

we was there on the 18th of june and loved it that much we want to take our children there in a few weeks time

Guest rating:

Good

19/6/2011

"superb tourist location offering evrything but at a price."

Because we had many varied destinations during our stay we choose the Rubens as it was 5 mind walk from Victorias hub of Tube and Bus networks.Staff could not have been more helpful considering this is a very busy hotel.Our room could have been cleaner but overall the smallish room met our needs for a two night stay.

Guest rating:

Excellent

15/5/2011

"friendly efficent staff"

great location

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/4/2011

"Very good location extremely comfortable and friendly would certainly recommend this hotel "

Guest rating:

Good

24/4/2011

"Very helpful staff. Comfortable stay. Reception lobby is small. Location is excellent. "

Junior Suite rooms needs fridge in the room and should be provided when guests check in. Rooms should be provided with toothbrushes, paste, shaving kit which we had to ask for. Front desk staff is extremely helpful and excellent.

Guest rating:

Good

19/4/2011

"Room poorly organised and too hot, floor boards creaking badly, but otherwise a nice hotel."

The Library restaurant is highly recommended.

Guest rating:

Good

30/3/2011

"Good location"

Average service

Guest rating:

Excellent

27/3/2011

"The Rubens always gives excellent service and first rate rooms."

Guest rating:

Excellent

6/3/2011

"A superb London base."

It doesn`t get much better- a quality hotel, central to everything you need with very attentive staff. Highly reccomended

Guest rating:

Excellent

2/3/2011

"Nicely Appointed, Comfortable, Attentive, Good Value"

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/1/2011

"-"

The staff were very attentive and friendly.

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/1/2011

"-"

Pleasant stay all staff polite and helpfull, room good. breakfast good good atmosphere

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/1/2011

"One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at."

There was absolutely nothing to complain about, all of the staff were polite, attentive, but equally unobtrusive. The food was excellent, the bedrooms clean, smart and tidy. We will definitely visit again.

Guest rating:

Good

17/12/2010

"Staff helpful and very pleasant"

room was clean and comfortable only down side not enough staff on in the bar sometimes, leaving people to wait a good 15/20 mins before receiving their drinks

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/12/2010

"The friendliest most helpful staff "

Staff so helpful sorting out a booking problem without fuss or resorting to "Policy Statements". Accommodation clean, warm and comfortable

Guest rating:

Good

27/11/2010

"-"

Staff in Rubens really friendly, room spotless, Usual rip off with bar prices though, claimed that Draught beer was Off at lunchtime (again) Rubens lost out in the end as we were meeting friends and we just went for a drink down the road for the afternoon instead Linda Thompson Falkirk Scotland

Guest rating:

Excellent

14/11/2010

"The staff were excellent very friendly and welcoming."

Very convenient location, excellent staff, delicious breakfast and superb pianist in the lounge on a Saturday.

Guest rating:

Excellent

13/11/2010

"spacious and comfortable"

Friendly staff, brightly lit clean rooms with good views.

Guest rating:

Good

8/11/2010

"-"

good service at reception but poor and slow service in the lounge after the show

Guest rating:

Excellent

2/11/2010

"Excellent friendly staff."

Very convenient location warm clean atmosphere.

Guest rating:

Excellent

2/11/2010

"Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay"

We would mention the helpfulness and courtesy of all the staff as being particularly impressive.

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/10/2010

"L"

Guest rating:

Good

20/10/2010

"Excellent breakfast"

Room was small but adequate, breakfast excellent. A good hotel for a weekend break

Guest rating:

Good

14/10/2010

"had an enjoyable stay once again at the rubens.the only criticism i would add would be the room was "

on the small side and the bathroom needed some attention i e the bath panel was rotting due to water leeking from the showe.

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/9/2010

"Dramatically decorated room, with a feeling of luxury and a wonderfully comfortable king size bed"

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/9/2010

"fantastic hotel"

We visit Rubens once a year and have done for the past 6 years ,always the same friendly staff ,spotlessly clean rooms, never fails to impress and the breakfast is second to none....excellent.Thank you!

Guest rating:

Excellent

30/8/2010

"Friendly, attentive service, comfortable accommodation, snd good food in relaxing surroundings."

This is the best reasonably priced London hotel we have stayed in over many years. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly, the bedroom was comfortable and well equipped, the hotel lounge, bar and restaurant were elegant ly furnished and relaxing. The bar snacks, cocktails, and afternoon tea were excellent. Our only complaint is that the hotel car park was not advertised to us beforehand.

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/8/2010

"very friendly and helpful staff ,excellent and clean room everything we asked for and more "

will certainly stay again and recommend to friends and strangers , they will not be disappointed with the service and feel of the hotel

Guest rating:

Excellent

21/8/2010

"friendly helpful staff"

Guest rating:

Good

2/8/2010

"Great location, good service and excellent breakfast"

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/7/2010

"Excellent location and service, in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere."

Comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Bar very expensive---over £10.00 for 2 coffees!

Guest rating:

Good

21/7/2010

"Very small room, otherwise excellent"

The Rubens location, service,food, helpfulness were all excellent! my only gripe is that the room was really small, so much so that we had to constantly move items of furniture in order to move around the room.

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/6/2010

"ideal site for people attending a garden party"

It added to a wonderful experience. The bar was a little expensive if I had to find fault . The staff were helpful and polite.

Guest rating:

Excellent

13/6/2010

"great hotel"

great hotel, good location, friendly staff, no faults to be found

Guest rating:

Excellent

2/6/2010

"excellent hotel"

This is a quality hotel, staff strive to provide excellent service. The rooms are lovely. It`s pricey but i`ve stayed in a couple of ridiculously expensive hotels in London and this one almost matches up. If i had a gripe then i would say the tea/coffee tray could have been better stocked, but if i`d asked i don`t doubt reception would have sorted it out quickly.The location is fabulous, a stones throw from victoria. Would definately recommend.

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/6/2010

"Lovely to see the hotel still maintains excellent standards of quality and service"

It was a joy to stay there

<<   More reviews >>

The Rubens at the Palace

39 Buckingham Palace Road, Victoria, London, SW1W 0PS

Expert advice

011-44-1872-261-100
Book Online or speak
to one of our hotel
experts for the same
great savings.

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor