4 star

Frederick House

42 Frederick Street, Princes St - New Town, Edinburgh, EH2 1EX

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Excellent

92% (45 reviews)

Guest rating:

Excellent

24/10/2018

"Fantastic hotel clean n warm quite "

Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice

Guest rating:

Excellent

15/7/2018

"-"

It is only slightly inconvenient having to cross road for breakfast which incidentally was well worth it.. The Rabble breakfast is enormous and the pancakes i had were delicious. The price of this hotel was cheap compared to others in central Edinburgh. Would definitely stay again. Staff were very helpful.

Guest rating:

Excellent

13/2/2018

"-"

great hotel,very central,lovely big room

Guest rating:

Good

5/12/2016

"Great location, friendly reception staff"

Great location, friendly reception staff, rooms nice, adequate facilities. Felt a little tired as a few dents in the wall next to the head board. No view from room 104, stayed here twice now and would definitely stay again. Breakfast nice at Ricks across the road, make a reservation for food if staying on weekend as gets really busy and not that big. Great stay again.

Guest rating:

Good

17/7/2016

"The hotel is very nice and our room was large, the location in edinburgh is excellant."

Guest rating:

Excellent

30/1/2016

"It was my sons 21st birthday. We were given a lovely suite with stunning views"

Receptionist very friendly and helpful. Great location. Good quiet hotel at night. Would definitely recommend it

Guest rating:

Good

10/1/2016

"enjoyable stay"

Nice hotel big rooms good value, great location for shopping on prince`s street. Breakfast in restaurant across the road was fine but would have preferred it be in the hotel as weather was awful and to wrap up to go for breakfast.

Guest rating:

Good

22/12/2015

"-"

Great location,smashing room with everything needed for an over night stay-breakfast just across the road was very nice,no negative comments about this place would recommend here and would rebook when staying in Edinburgh again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/10/2015

"Great location, friendly staff, clean room"

The location of the hotel was great. We had a room at the back so although there were no views, it was lovely and quiet. We particularly enjoyed having breakfast at Rick`s which was excellent during weekend but sadly less good on the Monday morning when perhaps you had to be an early bird to catch the full buffet.. Overall would definitely go back.

Guest rating:

Good

26/1/2015

"Great area"

Hotel was lovely, welcoming staff. Arrived earlier than check in but was allowed room then so this was great to explore without bags. Very close to everything, 2mins walk from waverly station. Surrounded by pubs & restraunts, made our night a lot easier. Couldnt hear a thing in room but. Breakfast was good although across street. Overall i`d stay again & recommend if your just looking for a bed to sleep in.

Guest rating:

Good

16/1/2015

"The staff were very helpful and efficient"

On arrival the receptionist (male) was clearly under pressure but dealt with us and others very well. We had contacted the staff with a couple of minor problems and these were dealt with very well indeed.

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/1/2015

"-"

Excellent accommodation and people skills. Rick` s bteakfastSUPERB!

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/11/2014

"-"

lovely hotel. we had nice big room with bath [ nice to soak after day of shopping ! ] breakfast was OK but was cold .Would stay again

Guest rating:

Good

28/9/2014

"Clean and pleasant rooms"

The position of this hotel couldn`t be better placed to see all of Edinburgh. The staff were helpful and the breakfast at Rick`s opposite was good

Guest rating:

Good

12/5/2014

"very clean"

nice and central. Good breakfast. everything you need for a weekend break

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/3/2014

"clean ,comfortable quite,recommended this hotel to any one "

Guest rating:

Excellent

17/3/2014

"Ideal place to stay in the centre of Edinburgh"

Spacious comfortable room, helpful friendly staff, great central situation. Enjoyed breakfast at Café Rouge but menu maybe a bit limited.

Guest rating:

Excellent

9/12/2013

"Very comfortable and central."

Guest rating:

Good

8/12/2013

"Brilliant location, nice quiet area but close to dome and access to princess street. Lovely room."

Good room with double bed and single bed, lovely bathroom with very hot water. Iron, ironing board and hair dryer included but no free toiletries and I had forgotten my shower gel but only soap provided. We stayed in room 104 and would recommend to all without hesitation. Breakfast included at cafe rouge across the road.

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/12/2013

"Great hotel"

Really pleased with our stay, lovely rooms, great staff, fab location - only one small moan, the towels could be more generous in size, but that won`t stop me from staying there again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

8/11/2013

"Very comfortable,everything was excellent."

Made to feel very welcome and would recommend to anyone,will be back if we are in Edinburgh again. Breakfast was very satisfying.

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/11/2013

"I would recommend this hotel, friendly, helpful staff, very central for shopping. Excellent."

Just round the corner from the Assembly Rooms and Primark this hotel is very central. Next to a post office and cash machine. Loads of cafes and restaurants close by, including an excellent mexican restaurant, spoilt for choice. Only downside is although this hotel has a disabled access sign on the website and does have a lift there are two sets of steps leading into the hotel so wasn`t ideal for my daughter who was on crutches at the time. The other thing is that there is no dining room in the hotel - breakfast and other meals are served at a cafe across the road. One last thing which was a bit annoying is the swipe card for your room door also works the lights and the swipe box is next to the door. A bit of a nuisance if you have to get up to use the toilet in the middle of the night. Other than those minor grumbles I would highly recommend this hotel, staff friendly and helpful, I would stay there again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

4/11/2013

"Brilliant location!"

This hotel is in an excellent location, lovely clean, big rooms, staff very friendly and helpful would go back and recommend to friends!

Guest rating:

Excellent

29/10/2013

"simple central friendly"

no more to say than the headline.

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/9/2013

"Comfortable and pleasant."

The room was a good size, facilities were ideal for business travel or a short break. Edinburgh is full of great places to eat within a few minutes walk. The hotel was just off George Street the main shopping street in the city centre. Very well located, comfortable and good value.

Guest rating:

Some problems

2/6/2013

"Staff were most helpful and hotel was comfortable and central however........"

Staff were most helpful and hotel was very central, however loud noise from the central heating system or air conditioning system adjacent to room. Noise ran throughout the whole night.

Guest rating:

Good

29/3/2013

"A third visit to this hotel"

This was our third visit to this hotel and the standards are as good as ever. Rooms are clean and comfortable and staff are helpful and polite. Breakfast at the Restaurant opposite is also good as is the service. No complaints will definitely stay again.

Guest rating:

Excellent

3/12/2012

"-"

excellent location in the centre of the new town and easy to find.

Guest rating:

Excellent

17/11/2012

"Pleasant and obliging staff,comfy and spacious rooms.Central for shops and bars/restaurants."

Guest rating:

Good

11/11/2012

"-"

Great location, very clean, staff very helpful, only one slight drawback lack of on site parking, and very efficient traffic wardens ha ha....

Guest rating:

Excellent

12/8/2012

"Good centrally located hotel"

Comfortable, clean, central, reasonably priced - ticks all the boxes.

Guest rating:

Good

23/7/2012

"Good location, nice hotel"

Room was good, up to standard. Unfortunately view out of window of room 6 was towards a wall. Breakfast in French bistro across the street, which was OK, but refills for coffee or tea had to be paid extra.

Frederick House

42 Frederick Street, Princes St - New Town, Edinburgh, EH2 1EX

Expert advice

011-44-1872-261-100
Book Online or speak
to one of our hotel
experts for the same
great savings.

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor