3 star

Academy Plaza Hotel

10-14 Findlater Place, Dublin 1, Dublin, -

<< Previous page

Hotel Direct invites all departing guests to rate and review their chosen hotel.

To ensure our guest evaluation is always up to date and to allow for hotel improvements, our average guest rating is the mean of the most recent 100 assessments.

Average guest rating:

Excellent

92% (371 reviews)

More reviews >>

Guest rating:

Excellent

15/12/2012

"Very clean, very comfortable, very reasonable, and very friendly"

What a find. Thanks for a warm welcome, a very clean room, comfortable beds. It was exactly what i was looking for and at a great price. I can;t recommend this place highly enough.

Guest rating:

Excellent

5/12/2012

"would recommend the hotel "

Guest rating:

Excellent

2/12/2012

"very nice hotel. staff were very pleasent and helpful"

Guest rating:

Good

26/11/2012

"-"

Great location, very clean & friendly hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Guest rating:

Good

8/10/2012

"The hotel provided comfortable and clean accommodation at a reasonable price."

It would have been more convenient if the hotel had provided some shampoo.

Guest rating:

Excellent

28/9/2012

"Central position, ideal for sightseeing Dublin"

Staff were very friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Room was very luxurious and the hotel faciliies perfect for relaxation.Minor crits.TV in room not in best position and am unsure about kettle in the drawerStill many Thanks

Guest rating:

Excellent

18/9/2012

"great location, friendly staff, room was fit for purpose and price-"

Guest rating:

Excellent

16/9/2012

"weekend in dublin"

Just arrived home sunday 16th september from dublin. Had a great stay at the academy plaza, couldnt have been more central. The hop on hop off bus and the airport bus stop outside the front door. Had a lovely dinner at the resturant and the breakfasts were also great.Above all the beds are the most comfortable my husband and Ihave ever slept in and we have been to more than a few "good" hotels.Would definately recommend it. Hope to come back soon. Pam n Kenny

Guest rating:

Excellent

16/9/2012

"Great "

Great location and friendly staff! Will be back!!

Guest rating:

Good

13/9/2012

"GOOD LOCATION"

STAFF FRIENDLY. HOTEL CLEAN AND BEDS COMFORTABLE. WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN

Guest rating:

Excellent

13/9/2012

"Comfortable, clean and very friendly staff"

Took my mum away for a night shopping in Dublin recently and was apprehensive about our hotel stay as the last time we went overnight to Dublin the hotel we stayed in was a disaster and it cost alot of money. I had no need to worry. The Academy Plaza was in a great location and was very clean, modern and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. I would recommend it to anyone and will definately return.

Guest rating:

Good

31/8/2012

"-"

We have just returned from a 2 night short break at this hotel,we arrived early around 11am,the hotel let us check into our room which was very nice,good size room and very clean.All the hotel staff were very friendly.The hotel was in a central position,only few minutes walk to main street and bus,s stop right outside the hotel if you want to go sight seeing. Would recommend this hotel we had a lovely time

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/8/2012

"Room very small"

When we got to our room it was very small but we went down to the front desk and were charged 19euro for a bigger room.Ithink it would be better for your website to explain the room that you book before you go. But over all i cannot fault the hotel. The staff and food were excellent and a fantastic location. I would fully 100% recommend this hotel and would deffinetly stay there again!!

Guest rating:

Excellent

15/8/2012

"I`ll definitely be back"

Beautiful hotel best staff I`ve seen in a hotel for a while very patient with guests particularly with elderly gentleman that was visiting while we were there,spotless room, nice food, very central for city.highly recommend.

Guest rating:

Excellent

6/8/2012

"Well appointed hotel, cheerful and helpful staff."

Guest rating:

Good

21/7/2012

"great location for shopping in city or events"

great hotel, lovely clean and very friendly staff. it`s my 9th staying here and will be back.

Guest rating:

Good

14/7/2012

"too small room."

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/6/2012

"Hotel was great staff very helpful rooms very clean "

We had food in the bistro very good, breakfast overpriced so we didn`t pay for breakfast we went across the road to toddys Had breakfast for five euros great, caught the air coach across the road back to the airport took 15minutes, my only moan is with hotel direct when I was looking for a hotel I wanted one in Stephens green on their website it has it in Stephens green it clearly is not as the hotel is in upper o Connell street,

Guest rating:

Excellent

6/5/2012

"good location, helpful staff, very clean and modern"

would stay again

Guest rating:

Good

16/4/2012

"Pleasant but a little noisy"

This is a good hotel, with reasonable and abundant breakfasts, comfortable rooms and very pleasant staff and all at a reasonable price.The only gripes I had were that it is noisy (with the window open) at the from of the hotel t night, but it is just of O`Connell Street so this isn`t surprising. However if you can sleep in a room with closed windows it was very quiet with the window closed, so not a major issue there really. Also the shower was pretty weak, it was hot but lacked the oomph that makes for a really good shower.

Guest rating:

Excellent

1/4/2012

"great hotel"

Fantasic location, rooms very clean and comfortable, staff are friendly and the food was excellent. Great hotel for a short trip in the city

Guest rating:

Excellent

25/3/2012

"Return visit and not disappointed"

Excellent in every way!

Guest rating:

Excellent

19/3/2012

"staff were really helpfull and nothing was a problem "

one of the best hotels we have stayed at. there was 8 of us and we all enjoyed or stay. hope to be back

Guest rating:

Excellent

13/3/2012

"very good hotel staff very friendly "

Guest rating:

Good

11/3/2012

"Dublin Trip for Rugby Weekend"

We all enjoyed our stay at the Academy Plaza, we were on a room only basis and found the rooms lovely, The Hotel in all was very good.. We found the Hotel in an excellent position in Dublin as just off O`Connell street which is the main street in Dublin. Only a 3-4 minute walk off the airport bus to the Hotel and the same to get the bus back to airport, perfect. Staff friendly. We didn`t eat in the Hotel so can``t comment on that. Plenty of places in city to eat and drink. We had a wonderful weekend and I would go back the Academy Plaza if we were ever to go back.

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/2/2012

"Extremely helpfull, friendly and welcoming in all aspects.I would definitely recommend this hotel."

Guest rating:

Good

23/1/2012

"Nice Experience"

I`ve stayed in hotels throughout the country and this hotel was clean, friendly and modern. Just 2 small issues - 1) my double room was quiet small compared to what I`ve experienced elsewhere. 2) There was no car park. I did get a discount off a carpark which was less than 1 minute away but it cost ?11.40 for one night.

Guest rating:

Excellent

23/1/2012

"Staff very helpful rooms comfortable food very tasty I would recommand it to my friends."

Guest rating:

Good

6/1/2012

"Great Location"

Staff very friendly, great location, clean hotel, breakfasts good despite what reviews say on other websites, room size adequate.

Guest rating:

Excellent

2/1/2012

"very clean"

Cannot fault the hotel the staff were brilliant bedrooms spotless would stay there again lovely time was had

Guest rating:

Average

8/12/2011

"noise from main road."

bedroom was disappointing this time, quite small. In furture would request a higher level floor due to the noise during the night from the main road. (party animals) lasted quite a while on both nights.apart from that, an excellent hotel and a great location. Have recommended to my friends

Guest rating:

Good

28/11/2011

"Good food"

Nice clean hotel. Some rooms have joining doors .Great Breakfast. Good price and location beside car park.

Guest rating:

Excellent

7/11/2011

"Friendly, clean and in a great location"

Thoroughly enjoyed my first time in Dublin and this hotel was a big part of that. Rooms were spacious and clean, bed was amazingly comfortable shower was powerful. TV choices were good. The location was about a 10 min walk to the river, a few bars and restaurants nearby amd everywhere in the city was less than a 30 min walk. Highly recommend this hotel to all, and I will be coming back to Dublin soon!!!

Guest rating:

Excellent

31/10/2011

"We always stay at the Academy when in Dublin excellent hotel all round"

Guest rating:

Good

12/8/2011

"friendly and helpful"

Guest rating:

Excellent

26/6/2011

"great accommodation"

very nice hotel, well located, friendly staff

Guest rating:

Excellent

22/6/2011

"We would certainly stay at this hotel again if visiting Dublin in the future."

The hotel was very comfortable and clean although the bathroon was rather small. The staff were very attentive especially the ones in the Dining Room who were working with large numbers of guests at breakfast time. We were delighted to find that the hotel was so convenient for the city and sightseeing. The airport bus stops almost opposite as does the "Hop on Hop off " bus.

Guest rating:

Good

11/6/2011

"Hotel well positioned, great value for money"

The Hotel & room were great but very noisy at night due to external air con fans (?) in the small outside courtyard that the room overlooked. Staff excellent and breakfast couldn`t be faulted. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Hotel.

Guest rating:

Excellent

10/6/2011

"Very polite and helpful staff"

Guest rating:

Excellent

4/6/2011

"-"

our stay at the Academy Plaza was excellent, pleasant rooms very comfy beds and very pleasant and helpful staff ,food also was very very good in all the venues. we would definitely go there again and recommend it to all my friends. having stayed at Best Western Hotels in other places I would not stay anywhere else, as we have so far never been dissapointed. Anne Parker

More reviews >>

Academy Plaza Hotel

10-14 Findlater Place, Dublin 1, Dublin, -

Expert advice

011-44-1872-261-100
Book Online or speak
to one of our hotel
experts for the same
great savings.

Our rating system

Guest ratings and reviews are the opinions of our guests and not necessarily an expression of Hotel Direct opinion.

Excellent

Excellent

Good

Good

Average

Average

Some problems

Some problems

Poor

Poor